top of page
Search

"The Open"

Updated: Oct 26, 2023




A man in a suit, a clown and a small girl.

Sitting in a boat in silence, with no clue of a shore

The man turned to the clown, asked for a joke

He answered back: “Very well then, we`re all bored

“…I know one, actually, the best of jokes…”

The kid knew what he`s up but never said a word

with a smile most sarcastic …the clown spoke

“I was at the top once; I was no small…”

“…A bright young bird that`s been hit by a stone…”

“…isn’t this mine?, I asked… what the boss just stole?”

“…I suddenly couldn’t eat, smile, or talk…”

“…I went to the doctor to figure what`s wrong…”

“..A fracture in the heart, he said, a wound in the soul”

“..I went back to my office,… they sent me home…”

“…If you don’t give in”, they said you`ll never belong…”

The clown kept on talking, …and took off the silly red ball

his smile has faded as he revealed his skin tone

“…it was all about justice…what I`ve written before”

No one could laugh, move or speak a word

That’s when she grinned .. that little girl

“…he thought it was “Open”, she said “..but it was a very closed door…”

“my brother was silly to think… he can face them all alone”

“My father says; it is never ….the company you work for…”

“these are groups and friends…. No fair people, No fair war”


Faten Mostafa Hatem




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page